Europa Nostra Awards - Winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage


The winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards were announced today on 15 May by the European Commission and Europa Nostra.

The 29 laureates from 17 countries have been recognized for their impressive accomplishments in conservation, research, dedicated service, and education, training and awareness-raising. The winners will be honored at a high-profile Award ceremony on 22 June in Berlin, during the first ever European Cultural Heritage Summit. Citizens from around the world can now vote online for the Public Choice Award and mobilize support for the winning achievement(s) from their own or another European country.

2018 Award Winners

Category Conservation

▪ St. Wenceslas Rotunda, Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC

▪ Poul Egede's Mission House, Ilimanaq, Greenland, DENMARK

▪ Dr. Barner's Sanatorium, Braunlage/Harz, GERMANY

▪ The Winzerberg: Royal Vineyard at Potsdam-Sanssouci, GERMANY

▪ Byzantine Church of Hagia Kyriaki, Naxos, GREECE

▪ Collaborative Conservation of the Apse Mosaic of the Transfiguration in the Basilica at St. Catherine's Monastery, Sinai, EGYPT/GREECE/ITALY

▪ The Botanical Garden of the National Palace of Queluz, Sintra, PORTUGAL

▪ The Pavilion of Prince Miloš at the Bukovička Spa, Arandjelovac, SERBIA

▪ The Bač Fortress, Bač, SERBIA

▪ Façade of San Ildefonso College, Alcalá de Henares, SPAIN

▪ Sorolla's Sketches for "Vision of Spain", Valencia, SPAIN

Category Research

▪ EPICO: European Protocol in Preventive Conservation, coordinated in Versailles, FRANCE

▪ Textile from Georgia, Tbilisi, GEORGIA

▪ CultLab3D: Automated Scanning Technology for 3D Digitisation, Darmstadt, GERMANY

▪ Research and Cataloguing of the State Art Collection, Belgrade, SERBIA

Category Dedicated Service

▪ The Wonders of Bulgaria Campaigners, BULGARIA

▪ Mr. Stéphane Bern, FRANCE

▪ Association of the International Private Committees for the Safeguarding of Venice, ITALY

▪ The Hendrick de Keyser Association, THE NETHERLANDS

▪ Mrs.Tone Sinding Steinsvik, NORWAY

▪ Private Water Owners of Argual and Tazacorte, Canary Islands, SPAIN

Category Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

▪ Ief Postino: Belgium and Italy Connected by Letters, BELGIUM

▪ Culture Leap: Educational Programme, FINLAND

▪ National Institute of Cultural Heritage: Educational and Training Programme for Conservators, FRANCE

▪ The Alka of Sinj Museum, CROATIA

▪ The Rising from Destruction Campaign, coordinated in Rome, ITALY

▪ Open Monuments, ITALY

▪ GeoCraftNL: Minecraft Heritage Project by GeoFort, THE NETHERLANDS

▪ Plečnik House, SLOVENIA

A Europa Nostra Award is also presented to a remarkable heritage achievement from a European country not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme.

Category Conservation

▪ Zografyon Greek School, Istanbul, TURKEY